01 March 2012

All Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) on Thorium Energy - The Weinberg Foundation Breaks Through!

Have just received an email from the Weinberg Foundation, headed:  Safer, cleaner nuclear alternative tops the agenda for new All-Party Parliamentary Group on Thorium Energy
World’s first coalition of cross-party legislators formed to examine thorium-fuelled nuclear power

With the following Information:

The list of founding members of the APPG is as follows:
Chair: Baroness Worthington (Lab)
Vice-Chair: Dr Julian Huppert MP (Lib Dem)
Treasurer: Lord Lucas of Crudwell (Con)

Lord Clark of Windermere
Mike Crockart, Lib Dem
Tony Cunningham, Labour
Lord Deben, Conservative
Barry Gardiner, Labour
Lord Grantchester, Labour
Viscount Stephen Hanworth, Labour
John Hemming, Lib Dem
Lord Jay, Cross bench
The Rt Reverend Bishop of Hereford, Antony Priddis
Lord O’Neill of Clackmannan, Labour
Lord Oxburgh, Cross bench
Baroness Smith, Labour
Lord Stoddart, Independent Labour
Lord Taverne, Lib Dem
Lord Teverson, Lib Dem
James Wharton, Conservative
Heather Wheeler, Conservative
Lord Whitty, Labour
Simon Wright, Lib Dem
Tim Yeo, Conservative

If you have any questions, comments or information for any or all Members of the APPG, you can find email or snail-mail data at:  http://www.parliament.uk/mps-lords-and-offices/mps/

Please let's give them all the support we can!

Contact your local MP and do your best to persuade them to join!


  1. Lars Jorgensen02 March, 2012 03:58

    Coal is indeed nasty and LFTR a much better idea but there is no way a 1GWe coal plant causes "500,000 premature deaths every year". This is off by several orders of magnitude. But that detail aside, this is very encouraging news.

    1. You're so right - all this time I've used a figure for worldwide generation of electricity from coal. So sorry - will remove this 'fact' immediately!